Saturday, August 31, 2019

The Cure play Daydream Festival tonight

August 31st, 2019
Daydream Festival in Pasadena, CA
Cure are scheduled to start at 8:40 pm pacific

That's a start time of 9:40 pm mountain, 10:40 pm central, 1140 pm eastern.

Setlist: Plainsong, Pictures of You, High, A Night Like This, Just One Kiss, Lovesong, Last Dance, Burn, Fascination Street, Never Enough, Push, In Between Days, Just Like Heaven, From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea, Play For Today, A Forest, Primary, Shake Dog Shake, 39, Disintegration

Encore: Lullaby, The Caterpillar, The Walk, Friday I'm in Love, Close to Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Boys Don't Cry.






 

Robert auctioning Daydream guitar for charity


Album update from Robert

The L.A. Times have a new interview with Robert, and he gives them an update about the new album:

How far along are you on a new Cure album?
We’re going back in [the studio] three days after we get back from Pasadena for me to try and finish the vocals, which is, as ever, what’s holding up the album. I keep going back over and redoing them, which is silly. At some point, I have to say that’s it.

Has this been in the works for a long time or did you suddenly get to a point where it all came out at once?
I was offered the chance to curate the Meltdown Festival [in London] and I said yes. And then I realized I didn’t really listen to very much new music anymore. So I threw myself headlong into it and started listening to bands again and meeting kids who were in bands, and something clicked inside my head: I want to do this again. It came as a bit of a shock to me, to be honest. No one really believed me until we started recording.

Is there anything from your history that you would compare this new album to?
It’s very much on the darker side of the spectrum. I lost my mother and my father and my brother recently, and obviously it had an effect on me. It’s not relentlessly doom and gloom. It has soundscapes on it, like “Disintegration,” I suppose. I was trying to create a big palette, a big wash of sound.

Do you have a title?
The working title was “Live From the Moon,” because I was enthralled by the 50th anniversary of the Apollo landing in the summer. We had a big moon hanging in the studio and lunar-related stuff lying around. I’ve always been a stargazer.

In the past, when the Cure released an album, you’ve said the band was going to retire. How are you feeling this time?
Being the contrarian that I am, I’d be very unhappy if it was the last one. We’ll be onstage tomorrow and I’ll be saying to them, “This is the last time in Paris,” and they’ll look at me and shrug their shoulders. At some point, I will be proved right.

Read the rest at the L.A. Times.

Saturday, August 24, 2019

"This is for Ricky"



Robert before closing their show at Rock en Seine on Friday night with 'Boys Don't Cry': "We have time for one last song. This is for Ricky. It's called Boys Don't Cry".







A post shared by Al (@feralpunk) on











Andy from Ride also dedicated 'Vapour Trail' to Ricky at their show on Friday night. Again, no video of the dedication, but here's the song, and if I find video of the dedication, I'll post it.


Liam Gallagher dedicated Champagne Supernova to Ricky at his show on Saturday night.


Thanks to Eden Gallup for posting this on his Facebook today. A young Paul "Ricky" Welton on drums.


Paul "Ricky" Welton was a longtime member of The Cure Crew, Jason's drum tech, and a wonderful person beloved by all who knew him. He passed away on Friday, and his band and crew paid tribute to him. This is my small attempt to also honor him.

Farewell, Ricky. Thank you for all you did for the band, for your crew, for the fans, and for keeping the shows running every night. You were so loved, and I hope you knew it. As everyone has said, you will be missed greatly!

All love and strength to his family, friends, the band, and the crew.

Rock on in eternity, Ricky! We love you so much!

Daydream Festival set times announced

Austin City Limits set times announced


Saturday Oct. 5th

Honda Stage
The Cure 8 - 10 PM
Billie Eilish 6 - 7 PM
Brittany Howard 4 - 5 PM
The Kooks 2 - 3 PM
Men I Trust 12:30 - 1:15 PM

Saturday Oct. 12th

Honda Stage
The Cure 8 - 10 PM
Billie Eilish 6 - 7 PM
Brittany Howard 4 - 5 PM
Denzel Curry 2 - 3 PM
Orville Peck 12:30 - 1:15 PM

The Cure 40 Live previews


Disintegration from Curaetion-25



Friday I'm in Love from Anniversary.

The Cure 40 Live: Curaetion-25 & Anniversary will be released on Oct. 18th in multiple formats. For more info and to pre-order, go here.

Friday, August 23, 2019

The Cure at Rock en Seine

August 23rd, 2019
Rock en Seine in France
Scheduled to play from 9 - 11:15 pm

In the US that's a start time of 3 pm eastern, 2 pm central, 1 pm mountain, noon pacific.

Livestream here.

Setlist: Plainsong, Pictures of You, High, A Night Like This, Just One Kiss, Lovesong, Last Dance, Burn, Fascination Street, Never Enough, Push, In Between Days, Just Like Heaven, From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea, Play For Today, A Forest, Primary, Shake Dog Shake, 39, Disintegration

Encore: Lullaby, The Caterpillar, The Walk, Friday I'm in Love, Close to Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Boys Don't Cry.

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Cure return to Mexico on Oct. 8th



Friday, August 16, 2019

The Cure at Glasgow Summer Sessions

August 16th, 2019
Summer Sessions in Scotland
Scheduled to start at 8:30 pm

In the US that's a start time of 3:30 pm eastern, 2:30 pm central, 1:30 pm mountain, 12:30 pm pacific.

Setlist: Plainsong, Pictures of You, High, A Night Like This, Just One Kiss, Lovesong, Last Dance, Burn, Fascination Street, Never Enough, Push, In Between Days, Just Like Heaven, From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea, Play For Today, A Forest, Primary, Shake Dog Shake, 39, Disintegration

Encore: Lullaby, The Caterpillar, The Walk, Friday I'm in Love, Close to Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Boys Don't Cry.




Sunday, August 11, 2019

The Cure at Flow Festival

August 11th, 2019
Flow Festival in Finland
Scheduled to start at 8:30 pm

In the US that's a start time of 1:30 pm eastern, 12:30 pm central, 11:30 am mountain, 10:30 am pacific.

There will be a livestream here and here, but you will probably need to use a VPN in most places.

Setlist: Shake Dog Shake, Burn, Fascination Street, Never Enough, Push, In Between Days, Just Like Heaven, Last Dance, Pictures of You, High, A Night Like This, Just One Kiss, Lovesong, From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea, A Strange Day, Play For Today, A Forest, Primary, 39, One Hundred Years

Encore: Lullaby, The Caterpillar, The Walk, Friday I'm in Love, Close to Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Boys Don't Cry.

Roger on Instagram



A post shared by Roger O'Donnell (@rogerxodonnell) on

Roger now has a public Instagram account. Follow him @rogerxodonnell.

Friday, August 9, 2019

The Cure at Way Out West Festival

August 9th, 2019
Way Out West Festival in Sweden
Scheduled to play from 10 - midnight.

In the US that's a start time of 4 pm eastern, 3 pm central, 2 pm mountain, 1 pm pacific.

There will be a Livestream here, but you will need to use a VPN if outside of Sweden.

Setlist: Plainsong, Pictures of You, A Night Like This, Just One Kiss, Lovesong, Last Dance, Burn, Fascination Street, Never Enough, Push, In Between Days, Just Like Heaven, From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea, Play For Today, A Forest, Shake Dog Shake, Disintegration

Encore: Lullaby, The Caterpillar, The Walk, Friday I'm in Love, Close to Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Boys Don't Cry.

Cure to release 40 Live: Cureation25 & Anniversary on Oct. 18th

THE CURE

40 LIVE – CURÆTION-25 + ANNIVERSARY

DELUXE BOX, HARDBOOK DVD, HARDBOOK BLU-RAY, AND DIGITAL FORMATS

AVAILABLE FROM OCTOBER 18th

 VIEW TRAILER <HERE>

PRE-ORDER NOW <HERE>

LONDON, August 8th — Less than a year before their induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, The Cure celebrated their 40thanniversary. On October 18th 2019, Eagle Vision will present two special performances in which they commemorated this milestone, when 40 LIVE – CURÆTION-25 + ANNIVERSARY is released in a Limited Edition Deluxe Box (2Blu-ray+4CD, or 2DVD+4CD, each with 40-page book), on Limited Edition Hardbook 2Blu-ray or 2DVD (each with 16 page book), and standalone digital formats.

The first film — CURÆTION-25: From There To Here | From Here To There– was captured on the tenth and final night of the 25thMeltdown Festival (curated by lead singer Robert Smith) at London’s Royal Festival Hall in June 2018. Presented in HD with 5.1 surround sound, Smith, Simon Gallup, Jason Cooper, Roger O’Donnell, and Reeves Gabrels performed a song from each of their 13 studio albums in chronological order, displaying the evolution of The Cure’s music live on stage. At the core of the set, they broke the cycle with some new, unreleased songs – offering a glimpse into the band’s future – before retracing their steps with another song from each album, ending with “Boys Don’t Cry.”

Released in theatres globally only last week, ANNIVERSARY: 1978-2018 Live In Hyde Park London features the band’s acclaimed 29-song, 135-minute anniversary concert. Filmed in one of London’s Royal Parks to a crowd of 65,000 fans, The Cure presented a four-decade deep set on July 7, 2018, including “Just Like Heaven,” “Lovesong,” “High,” and “The End Of The World.” Adding to the experience, the band is back-dropped by giant screens displaying footage that complements the unique moods and emotive song writing that established The Cure as pioneers of alternative rock. The result is a concert that Rolling Stoneexpressed shows the “unique power in The Cure’s live performance.”

Directed by Tim Pope – the long-time collaborator behind many of The Cure’s music videos and their award-winning 1986 film In Orange– Anniversary is chronicled in 4K with a 5.1 surround sound mix by Robert Smith and Paul Corkett. Pope states “I went to rehearsals in a very cramped studio just the day before the show… I knew as the set list unfolded that the only way to show people The Real Cure was to capture not only the grand, epic dimension of their stage show, but also the close, intimate side of this band simply making music together.”

“This really was the perfect way to celebrate 40 years of the band,” Smith exclaimed. “It was a fabulous day none of us will ever forget!”

THE CURE: 40 LIVE – CURÆTION-25 + ANNIVERSARY limited edition Deluxe Box includes gatefold 2x Blu-ray/DVD and 4x CDs, covering both concerts with nearly 9 hours of content, plus a 40 page hardback book. The limited edition Hardbook includes 2x Blu-rays/DVDs and 16 page booklet. CURÆTION-25 and ANNIVERSARY are available as standalone concerts on Digital

CURÆTION-25:

From There To Here | From Here To There

1.     Three Imaginary Boys
2.     At Night
3.     Other Voices
4.     A Strange Day
5.     Bananafishbones
6.     A Night Like This
7.     Like Cockatoos
8.     Pictures Of You
9.     High
10.   Jupiter Crash
11.   39
12.   Us Or Them
13.   It’s Over
14.   It Can Never Be The Same
15.   Step Into The Light
16.   The Hungry Ghost
17.   alt.end
18.   The Last Day Of Summer
19.   Want
20.   From The Edge Of The Deep Green Sea
21.   Disintegration
22.   If Only Tonight We Could Sleep
23.   Sinking
24.   Shake Dog Shake
25.   One Hundred Years
26.   Primary
27.   A Forest
28.   Boys Don’t Cry


ANNIVERSARY:

1978-2018 Live In Hyde Park London

1.     Plainsong
2.     Pictures Of You
3.     High
4.     A Night Like This
5.     The Walk
6.     The End Of The World
7.     Lovesong
8.     Push
9.     Inbetween Days
10.   Just Like Heaven
11.   If Only Tonight
12.   Play For Today
13.   A Forest
14.   Shake Dog Shake
15.   Burn
16.   Fascination Street
17.   Never Enough
18.   From The Edge Of The Deep Green Sea
19.   Disintegration
20.   Lullaby
21.   Caterpillar
22.   Friday I’m In Love
23.   Close To Me
24.   Why Can’t I Be You
25.   Boys Don’t Cry
26.   Jumping Someone Else’s Train
27.   Grinding Halt
28.   10:15 Saturday Night
29.   Killing an Arab

Wednesday, August 7, 2019

The Cure at Oya Festival

August 7th, 2019
Oya Festival in Norway
Scheduled to play from 8:45 - 11 pm.

In the US that's a start time of 2:45 pm eastern, 1:45 pm central, 12:45 pm mountain, 11:45 am pacific.

Setlist: Plainsong, Pictures of You, High, A Night Like This, Just One Kiss, Lovesong, Last Dance, Burn, Fascination Street, Never Enough, Push, In Between Days, Just Like Heaven, From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea, Play For Today, A Forest, Primary, Shake Dog Shake, 39, Disintegration

Encore: Lullaby, The Caterpillar, The Walk, Friday I'm in Love, Close to Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Boys Don't Cry.

Saturday, August 3, 2019

The Cure at Afisha Picnic

August 3rd, 2019
Afisha Picnic in Russia
Scheduled to play from 8:30 - 11 pm.

In the US that's a start time of 1:30 pm eastern, 12:30 pm central, 11:30 am mountain, 10:30 am pacific.

Setlist: Plainsong, Pictures of You, High, Just One Kiss, Lovesong, Last Dance, Burn, Fascination Street, Never Enough, Push, In Between Days, Just Like Heaven, From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea, Shake Dog Shake, A Night Like This, Play For Today, A Forest, Primary, 39, Disintegration

Encore: Lullaby, The Caterpillar, The Walk, Friday I'm in Love, Close to Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Boys Don't Cry.

Sunday, July 28, 2019

The Cure at Fuji Rock Festival

July 28th, 2019
Fuji Rock Festival in Japan
Scheduled to play from 9 - 11:15 pm.

In the US that's a start time of 8 am eastern, 7 am central, 6 am mountain, 5 am pacific.

Watch the show live on YouTube.

Setlist: Plainsong, Pictures of You, High, A Night Like This, Lovesong, Last Dance, Burn, Fascination Street, Never Enough, Push, In Between Days, Just Like Heaven, From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea, Play For Today, A Forest, Shake Dog Shake, Disintegration

Encore: Lullaby, The Caterpillar, The Walk, Friday I'm in Love, Close to Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Boys Don't Cry.

Note: Eden Gallup is taking Simon's place tonight. Simon is fine. All will be explained later.

Video: Interview with Robert.

Update: Here's the statement from The Cure.

“A SERIOUS PERSONAL SITUATION AFFECTING OUR BASSIST SIMON AROSE AFTER THE PALEO FESTIVAL SHOW ON THURSDAY, AND AS A CONSEQUENCE SIMON WAS UNABLE TO TRAVEL WITH US TO JAPAN. VERY RELUCTANT TO DISAPPOINT OUR WONDERFUL JAPANESE FANS, AND AFTER MUCH DISCUSSION, WE DECIDED TO GO AHEAD WITH OUR 'FUJI FESTIVAL’ HEADLINE ON SUNDAY, WITH A VERY BRAVE AND VERY EXCELLENT EDEN GALLUP FILLING IN ON BASS! WE ARE ALL VERY GRATEFUL TO ED FOR REACHING OUT ACROSS THE GENERATIONAL DIVIDE TO HELP US OUT, AND JOIN HIM IN WELCOMING HIS DAD BACK FOR OUR SEVEN REMAINING SUMMER FESTIVAL SHOWS, COMMENCING WITH AFISHA PICNIC MOSCOW NEXT SATURDAY 3RD AUGUST. THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR UNDERSTANDING; HOPE YOU ENJOYED THE FUJI SHOW AS MUCH AS WE DID, AND SEE YOU ALL VERY SOON… LOVE THE CURE X”

Thursday, July 25, 2019

The Cure at Paleo Festival

July 25th, 2019
Paleo Festival in Switzerland
Scheduled to play from 11:30 pm - 1:30 am.
In the US that's a start time of 5:30 pm eastern, 4:30 central, 3:30 mountain, 2:30 pacific.

Live radio broadcast of the show on Couleur3 here.

Setlist: Plainsong, Pictures of You, High, A Night Like This, Lovesong, Last Dance, Burn, Fascination Street, Never Enough, Push, In Between Days, Just Like Heaven, From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea, Play For Today, A Forest, Shake Dog Shake, Disintegration

Encore: Lullaby, The Caterpillar, The Walk, Friday I'm in Love, Close to Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Boys Don't Cry.

Monday, July 22, 2019

The Cure at Rock the City

July 22nd, 2019
Rock the City in Romania
Scheduled to play from 8:45 - 11 pm.
In the US that's a start time of 1:45 pm eastern, 12:45 pm central, 11:45 am mountain, 10:45 am pacific.

Setlist: Plainsong, Pictures of You, High, Just One Kiss, Lovesong, Last Dance, Burn, Fascination Street, Never Enough, Push, In Between Days, Just Like Heaven, From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea, Shake Dog Shake, A Night Like This, Play For Today, A Forest, Primary, 39, Disintegration

Encore: Lullaby, The Caterpillar, The Walk, Friday I'm in Love, Close to Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Boys Don't Cry.

Saturday, July 20, 2019

The Cure at Colours of Ostrava

July 20th, 2019
Colours of Ostrava in the Czech Republic
Scheduled to play from 9:15 - 11:30 pm.
In the US that's a start time of 3:15 pm eastern, 2:15 central, 1:15 mountain, 12:15 pacific.

Setlist: Shake Dog Shake, Burn, Fascination Street, Never Enough, Push, In Between Days, Just Like Heaven, Last Dance, From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea, A Strange Day, Just One Kiss, Lovesong, Pictures of You, High, A Night Like This, Play For Today, A Forest, Primary, 39, One Hundred Years

Encore: Lullaby, The Caterpillar, The Walk, Friday I'm in Love, Close to Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Boys Don't Cry.